FOAM4GP Map – To Statin or not to Statin? – That is the question.


Nice summary

FOAM4GP

Statin Confusion!

I am questioning my statin prescribing and need to be able to justify what I am doing with my patients (which I should have been able to anyway but Catalyst has brought this to the fore – Link). I feel I have been doing a medical practice which I was taught, without fully knowing the evidence. Time to rectify this.

DISCLAIMER: I have not received any drug company monies for any of the links below or from anti-statin campaigners. Nor do I get visits from drug company reps. I don’t even own a pen!Prof Montage

Lets start with a fun 3D video from Prof Montage introducing statistics with statins in the elderly – Link

Question 1 – What is the mechanism of action behind how HMG-CoA Reductase Inhibitors (statins) work?

Here is a 4 minute refresher video on Statin’s MOA – HMG-CoA Reductase InhibitorsLink

Question 2 – Who should I…

View original post 1,997 more words

This entry was posted in Medical. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

